Saturday, February 03, 2007

Contact NYC City Council Members


To my knowledge no member of NYC City Council has put forth the idea of naming any street in Harlem after Jamal.

As best we can tell, the idea came from the NY Coalition to Free Mumia and they are still in the stages of attempting to build some kind of momentum for their idea of rewarding Jamal for his crime of the murder of Officer Daniel Faulkner. We know that the City of San Francisco honored Jamal with a day back in 1997. And than of course many of you know that a street was recently named for Mumia in France. So the notion of adulation being heaped upon this murderer is not at all without precedent or possibility.

Which is why of course I started the petition that has in just over a week’s time garnered over 18,000 signatures, which according to gopetition.com makes this petition the most active one in their network.

In order to get a "jump" on the Jamal fanatics I think it the next logical step in the campaign to keep "Mumia" street out of New York is to contact the members of their City Council members and obtain from them a promise that they will never vote to name a street in NYC for a convicted murderer, not to speak of a convicted and un-repentant cop-killer who is not even from New York City.

Contact the representatives of the city of New York, remind them of the crime that Jamal committed, explain that those behind this attempt to profane a street with his name are those who hate this country and therefore the city, let them know that the naming of a street after a brutal killer is unacceptable at any time and any place.

If any council members respond in any form or fashion we would appreciate you contacting us via email at sept27th2002@yahoo.com. We have attempted to contact the City Council’s speaker and have received no response

Here is the contact info for the NYC City Council members:

Joseph P. Addabbo, Jr.
addabbo@council.nyc.ny.us

Maria del Carmen Arroyo
arroyo@council.nyc.ny.us



Charles Barron
District Office Phone No.: (718) 649-9495/9496


Yvette D. Clarke
clarke@council.nyc.ny.us

Leroy G. Comrie, Jr.
comrie@council.nyc.ny.us


Inez Dickens (represents Harlem)
District Office Phone No.: (212) 678-4505

Erik Martin Dilan
emdilan@council.nyc.ny.us




Dennis P. Gallagher
gallagher@council.nyc.ny.us







Melinda R. Katz
katz@council.nyc.ny.us

G. Oliver Koppell
koppell@council.nyc.ny.us



Jessica S. Lappin
lappin@council.nyc.ny.us


Melissa Mark Viverito
viverito@council.nyc.ny.us





Michael C. Nelson
nelson@council.nyc.ny.us



Domenic M. Recchia, Jr.
recchia@council.nyc.ny.us

Diana Reyna
(718) 963-3141


James Sanders, Jr.
sanders@council.nyc.ny.us




Peter F. Vallone, Jr.
vallonejr@council.nyc.ny.us



Thomas White, Jr.
whitejr@council.nyc.ny.us

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Hit Counter
Online Schools